About

Welcome New Director Stephanie Lanza

Message from the Director

Our Focus

The Edna Bennett Pierce Prevention Research Center has been leading the field of prevention science since 1998, using research to create programs and inform policy that promotes the health and well-being of children and families.

Projects

A teacher in a library helps students while students in the background work on computers.

Shaping Programs, Changing Lives

Research projects and programs that promote healthy lifestyles

Research

Researchers discussing paper reports and content on a cell phone.

Elevating Prevention Science

Infrastructure and operational support for interdisciplinary research

Graduate Education

Students gathered around an instructor engaged in discussion.

Creating a New Generation of Researchers

Pre- and Post-doctoral training in prevention science

Policy

Empty conference room table with leather chairs.

Research that Informs Policy

Evidence-based prevention practices to guide decision-making

Events

Sep 27 -to- 28

Child Maltreatment Solutions Network Conference, "Scientific Synergy & Innovation from Military Family & Child Welfare Contexts"

  • Wednesday September 27, 2017 - Thursday September 28, 2017
  • Nittany Lion Inn, University Park, PA

Wed Sep 27

"The SIESTA Research Program"

Douglas M. Teti, Ph.D. Professor of Human Development, Psychology, and Pediatrics Head, Human Development and Family Studies, Penn State University

  • Wednesday September 27, 2017 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • 22 Biobehavioral Health Building

Wed Oct 04

COMPASS Science Communications Plenary, "Making research relevant to the media and policymakers"

Nancy Shute, National Public Radio; Bob Marshall, Times-Picayune and The Lens; Amanda Paulson, Christian Science Monitor; and Ashley Smart, Physics Today.

  • Wednesday October 4, 2017 from 4:00 pm–6:00 pm
  • Pike Auditorium, 22 Biobehavioral Health Building

Thu Oct 19

Bennett Lecture: "Social-Emotional Learning: New Frontiers in Science and Practice in Schools and Pre-Schools"

Stephanie M. Jones, Ph.D.

  • Thursday October 19, 2017 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • Ruth Pike Auditorium, 22 Biobehavioral Health Building

Wed Oct 25

Prevention Scientist Seminar Series

Emily B. Ansell, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Psychology, College of Arts and Science, Syracuse University

  • Wednesday October 25, 2017 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • Ruth Pike Auditorium, 22 Biobehavioral Health Building

Oct 30 -to- 31

ATRN Summit - Transforming Health in Appalachia through Engaged Translational Research

  • Monday October 30, 2017 - Tuesday October 31, 2017
  • Hershey, PA

Wed Nov 01

Prevention Scientist Seminar Series

Lisa Dierker, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology, Wesleyan University

  • Wednesday November 1, 2017 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • Ruth Pike Auditorium, 22 Biobehavioral Health Building

Wed Nov 08

It is about time: How time perspective is associated with health outcomes in adolescents

Zena Mello, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Psychology, San Francisco State University

  • Wednesday November 8, 2017 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • Ruth Pike Auditorium, 22 Biobehavioral Health Building

Wed Nov 29

Prevention Scientist Seminar Series

Jennifer Maggs, Ph.D., Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, Penn State University

  • Wednesday November 29, 2017 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • Ruth Pike Auditorium, 22 Biobehavioral Health Building

Wed Jan 31

Prevention Scientist Seminar Series

Cecile Marczinksi, Ph.D., Regents Professor of Psychological Science, Northern Kentucky University

  • Wednesday January 31, 2018 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • Ruth Pike Auditorium, 22 Biobehavioral Health Building

Wed Feb 07

Prevention Scientist Seminar Series

Lisa Gatzke-Kopp, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies; Professor-in-Charge of Graduate Program, Penn State University

  • Wednesday February 7, 2018 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • Ruth Pike Auditorium, 022 Biobehavioral Health Building

Wed Feb 21

Prevention Scientist Seminar Series

Joel Segel, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Health Policy and Administration, Penn State University

  • Wednesday February 21, 2018 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • Ruth Pike Auditorium, 22 Biobehavioral Health Building

Wed Mar 14

Prevention Scientist Seminar Series

Kathleen Keller, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Nutritional Sciences and Food Science, Penn State University

  • Wednesday March 14, 2018 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • Ruth Pike Auditorium, 22 Biobehavioral Health Building

Wed Apr 04

Prevention Scientist Seminar Series

Steffany Fredman, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, Penn State University

  • Wednesday April 4, 2018 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • Ruth Pike Auditorium, 022 Biobehavioral Health Building

Wed Apr 18

Prevention Scientist Seminar Series

Michael Russell, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biobeahvioral Health, Penn State University

  • Wednesday April 18, 2018 from 4:00 pm–5:00 pm
  • Ruth Pike Auditorium, 022 Biobehavioral Health Building