Events

Visit our Standing Event Series Pages

Upcoming Events

Wed Oct 19

Lecture: "Parenting Skills and Child Development: The Importance of Positive Parenting and the Future of Skill-based Approaches to Parenting Intervention"

Beth Stormshak, Ph.D., Director of Prevention Science Institute at the University of Oregon

  • Wednesday October 19, 2022 from 4:15 pm–5:30 pm
  • Hosted by the Child Study Center at Penn State, Location TBD

Oct 20 -to- 21

Polysubstance Use Symposium

  • Thursday October 20, 2022 - Friday October 21, 2022
  • New York University Kimmel Center, New York City

Thu Oct 20

2022 Bennett Lecture in Prevention Science: "Navigating Prevention in a New Era of Telehealth and Online Service Delivery"

Beth Stormshak, Ph.D., Director of Prevention Science Institute at the University of Oregon

  • Thursday October 20, 2022 from 4:00 pm–5:30 pm
  • Bennett Pierce Living Center, 110 Henderson Building

Oct 24 -to- 25

Symposium: "Family Socialization Around Race/Ethnicity and Racism: Advancing Understanding of Racial/Ethnic Inequalities in the U.S."

  • Monday October 24, 2022 - Tuesday October 25, 2022
  • State College, PA or Virtual TBD

Tue Nov 01

Prevention Science Seminar with Deborah Schussler, Ph.D.

Deborah Schussler, Ph.D., Professor of Education (Educational Leadership Program), Penn State

  • Tuesday November 1, 2022 from 12:00 pm–1:00 pm
  • 312 Biobehavioral Health Building & via Zoom

Tue Dec 06

Prevention Science Seminar with Sophia Allen, Ph.D.

Sophia Allen, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Public Health Sciences, Penn State College of Medicine

  • Tuesday December 6, 2022 from 12:00 pm–1:00 pm
  • 312 Biobehavioral Health Building and via Zoom

Tue Jan 31

Prevention Science Seminar with Meg Bruening, Ph.D.

Meg Bruening, Ph.D., Professor of Nutritional Sciences, Penn State

  • Tuesday January 31, 2023 from 12:00 pm–1:00 pm
  • 312 Biobehavioral Health Building & via Zoom

Tue Feb 28

Prevention Science Seminar with Sharon Wanless, Ph.D.

  • Tuesday February 28, 2023 from 12:00 pm–1:00 pm
  • Location TBD

Tue Mar 14

3rd Annual Lecture on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion for Prevention Science and Practice

Kantahyanee Murray, Ph.D., Senior Associate Director at the MPHI Center for Culturally Responsive Engagement

  • Tuesday March 14, 2023 from 12:00 pm–1:00 pm
  • Location: Zoom Webinar

Tue Mar 28

Prevention Science Seminar with Robert Nix, Ph.D.

Robert Nix, Ph.D., Audrey Rothermel-Bascom Professor in the School of Human Ecology, University of Wisconsin

  • Tuesday March 28, 2023 from 12:00 pm–1:00 pm
  • Via Zoom Webinar